11 PR Fellows, one Life Fellow & two Life Members inducted in Hobart

Mon, Oct 26 2015

Hobart: Last night saw Public Relations Institute of Australia’s (PRIA) Annual Fellows Dinner hosted at the Blundstone Area, Hobart, Tasmania. The annual dinner celebrates the work of the advisory committee to the Institute's National Board.

On a chilly night in Tasmania’s capital, 11 senior PR leaders were inducted into the College of Fellows: Mrs Danielle Morris, Mr Jeffrey Naqvi, Ms Yasmine Gray, Dr Katharina Wolf, Mr Christopher Savage, Ms Kirsten Bruce, Ms Susan Redden Makatoa, Ms Birgit Schonafinger, Ms Jessica Hudswell, Ms Elisabeth Tuckey, and Mr Steve Coldham.

“Nominated by the state chapters of the College of Fellows, they are high achievers who have made a major contribution to our industry and the PRIA,” said Tom Parkes, FPRIA, PRIA’s Officer for the College of Fellows.

Susan Redden Makatoa FPRIA, Group Managing Director - Corporate, Ogilvy Public Relations, said, “It’s a massive honour to be recognised by the PRIA in this way, especially when I see the calibre of my fellow Fellows. My main aim will be to help my peers and colleagues stay hungry for new ideas, to keep learning and evolving for the benefit of others. That’s where PRIA is headed and I’ll be pleased to be part of that.”

One Life Fellow was inducted into the College, Ms Susan Driscoll LFPRIA, former PRIA Victorian President, and previous winner of PRIA’s President’s Award. Two very special recognitions were also made to newly inducted Life Members, John Croll LMPRIA, CEO, Isentia, and Nicolas Turner LMPRIA, Former PRIA National President and current Managing Director, Corporate Communications.

Nic Turner, MD, Corporate Communications, said, “I was delighted to be recognised by the PRIA with Life Membership in my home town of Hobart as part of the 2015 National Conference. I have worked in the industry for more than 20 years and have made many friends from with the sector around Australia in that time, so it was obviously personally, as well as professionally, very important to me.“

PRIA Fellow, Tony Harrison received a certification of appreciation for his longstanding support of the College of Fellows.

- Ends 

Available for interview:

Thomas Parkes, FPRIA
Officer for the College of Fellows
Public Relations Institute of Australia
Tel: +61 450 012 402

For more information:

Neil O’Sullivan
National Marketing and Communication Manager
Public Relations Institute of Australia
E: marcomms@pria.com.au
Tel: +61 452 460 933
About the Fellows

The College of Fellows was established in 1985 and is an advisory committee to the Institute's Board. The College comprises the members of the Institute who have been made Fellows or Life Fellows. It has a chair in each State or Territory Chapter and a National Officer. No member of the Council is a serving member of the National Board.

Add your comments to this article